H 45° L 23°
Partly Cloudy | 20MPH

Announcements kick off elections in Muskego

Mayor will run, School Board president won't

Dec. 2, 2013

Muskego — One highly visible public official will seek re-election. Another will not.

The terms of both Muskego Mayor Kathy Chiaverotti and Muskego-Norway School District President Jim Schaefer will expire in April, with Chiaverotti saying she will run again, but Schaefer announcing this week that he won't.

Candidates for local seats can now start circulating nomination papers for the April 1 election. The filing deadline is 5 p.m. Jan. 7 in the clerk-treasurer's office at the City Hall, S8200 Racine Ave. If needed, a primary will be held Feb. 18.

Incumbents have until Dec. 27 to file notices that they don't intend to seek re-election.

Top-tier announcements

In announcing her decision to seek re-election, Chiaverotti wrote: "During my term as mayor, it has been my honor and privilege to serve the residents and businesses of Muskego."

In making his no-run announcement Monday, Schaefer, who has been Muskego-Norway School Board president for eight years, cited the district's recent accomplishments, which to him suggested that his original reasons for seeking the seat were no longer a factor.

Schaefer said he ran for the board 12 years ago to try to change the tone of the board, which he felt was largely dysfunctional, and to improve the tone of the district. That's no longer the case.

He particularly noted the naming of Muskego High School on Newsweek magazine's list of Best High Schools in America, the previous superintendent's award as Wisconsin 2011 Superintendent of the Year, the district's Baldridge Award for Continuous Improvement and the recent recognition of Country Meadows Elementary School as a Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education.

"I do not take these as my accomplishments, or even as those of the board, but rather as the output of a system where all parts — staff, students, administration and even the board — are working together toward one goal," he said.

School Board seats

The terms of two others — Dean Strom and Robert Bohmann — on the School Board also will expire in April. Both say they intend to run again.

The top two vote-getters in April 1 election will receive the regular three-year School Board terms. The candidate coming in third will get a one-year term. That's due to the resignation of board member Mike Serdynski. (Bohmann was appointed in September to serve in Serdynski's place until April.)

School Board members receive $4,154 annually.

School Board candidates have until 5 p.m. Jan. 7 to file a campaign registration statement and a declaration of candidadcy in the office of the district clerk at the Educational Services Center, W18763 Woods Road.

Aldermanic seats

The terms of three city aldermen — Dan Soltysiak (5th District), Neil Borgman (3rd District) and Robert Wolfe (1st District) — will also expire in April.

Soltysiak has announced he will not seek re-election, citing a new baby and professional obligations.

Borgman and Wolfe have not announced their intentions, as of press deadline.

Aldermanic terms are two years and the mayoral term is three.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Suburban News Roundup

E-mail Newsletter

Your link to the biggest stories in the suburbs delivered Thursday mornings.

Enter your e-mail address above and click "Sign Up Now!" to begin receiving your e-mail newsletter
Get the Newsletter!

Login or Register to manage all your newsletter preferences.

Local Crime Map


Latest Photo Galleries