City and school election process begins in Muskego and New Berlin

Muskego has more municipal races than New Berlin this time

Jan. 13, 2014

The filing deadline for spring elections passed last week, with plenty of city races shaping up in Muskego, but only one race in New Berlin.

Because no more than two candidates filed for any seat as of Jan. 7 deadline, no primary election will be necessary in either city. The general election will be held April 1.


A full slate of candidates in Muskego has filed to run for all four seats — for mayor and three aldermanic districts.

Kathy Chiaverotti, W19857 Holly Patch Court, will seek a second three-year term for mayor, but will face a challenge from Scott Dickmann, W17945 Muskego Drive, who also ran for mayor three years ago.

In District 1, incumbent Robert Wolfe, W13573 Fleetwood Road, will run against Randall Hojnacki, S7625 Cheviot Road, a second-time candidate.

District 3 features a race between incumbent Neil Borgman, W16972 Briargate Lane, and Tom Reck, S6701 Muskego Drive.

In District 5, where Alderman Dan Soltysiak announced he would not seek re-election, there are two candidates: James Gage, W20177 Monterey Drive, and John Engelhardt, S7149 Hillside Drive, who ran two years ago against Soltysiak.

A trio of candidates will run for three seats on the Muskego-Norway School Board. Incumbents Dean Strom, S8011 Scenic Drive, Muskego, and Robert Bohmann, 25800 Auburn Court, Wind Lake, who was chosen in September to fill a vacancy until the April 2014 election, will run along with Chris Buckmaster, S7191 Westcot Drive, Muskego.

The two with the most votes will get three-year terms and the third candidate will serve the year remaining on the term of Mike Serdynski who resigned last summer.

New Berlin

In New Berlin, only one alderman will face opposition. Laura Karvala, 14360 W. Wilbur Drive, the District 2 incumbent, will be challenged by Charles Garrigues, 3183 Waterford Court.

But Ken Harenda (District 4), Dennis Horbinski (District 6) and John Fillar (District 7) will run unopposed.

Three candidates will vie for two seats on the School Board. Incumbents Dave Maxey, board president, 17240 W. Rogers Drive, and Art Marquardt, 17940 W. Beres Road, filed, as did Amy Crosby, 3959 S. Victoria Court.

— Jane Ford-Stewart


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries