Sports Wrapups: Nov. 12

Nov. 12, 2012

Muskego girls volleyball

After another successful season, the Muskego girls volleyball team is receiving plenty of recognition.

A trio of Warriors earned all-state honors, as junior setter Michelle Fugarino was named to the first team, senior outside hitter Mary O'Connor to the third team and sophomore setter Morgan Kath to the honorable-mention list.

In addition, Fugarino, O'Connor and Kath were all first-team all-Classic 8 Conference, while junior middle blocker Jordan Wachowiak made the second team and junior outside hitter Kayla Bluemel received honorable mention.

Fugarino racked up 517 digs and 545 service receptions, both of which led the team, and had 41 aces, while O'Connor led the Warriors in kills with 312 and collected 73 blocks and Kath paced them in assists with 916 and added 172 digs, 76 blocks and 48 service aces.

Wachowiak totaled 147 kills and a team-high 164 blocks and Bluemel 138 kills and 68 assists.

Senior outside hitter Kelly Spoerk collected 187 kills, 162 digs and 335 receptions; senior defensive specialist Sam Jezewski a team-high 55 aces as well as 176 digs and 342 receptions; senior outside hitter Kristyn Paskiewicz 241 receptions and 34 aces and junior middle blocker Lauren Kudronowicz 100 blocks.

Spoerk won the team's most improved player, Kudronowicz the practice player of the year, junior Martha Blanchard the Spirit Award and junior Sammy Schneiker the Warrior Heart Award.

Muskego went 7-0 in Classic 8 duals this season, and its records for the past four seasons are 43-3 in conference duals and 146-45 overall.

Eisenhower cross country

The New Berlin Eisenhower cross country teams recently announced their team award winners.

This year's Most Valuable Players are sophomores - Matt Kizaric and Rebecca Eldien.

The Top Newcomer Award is going to sophomore Nick Buban and junior Stefanie Panzenhagen.

Sophomore Sean Seifert and freshman Jayme Fletcher earned the Most Improved Award.

The Lions had three runners earn All-Conference honors (first-team Eldien, second-team Kizaric and third-team junior Hannah Kinzer) and their top five varsity boys all finished in the top 30. The boys placed fourth at the conference meet after placing eighth in 2011 and the girls fought through some injuries to tie for seventh place.

"This was a great season for the Eisenhower Cross Country program," coach Billy Simon said. "I am very excited to watch this team take it to the next level in the 2013 season. We will definitely miss our graduating seniors, but we have some highly motivated returning athletes that will be able to step in to leadership roles and lead our team to glory."

The Lions will lose six seniors - Veronica Diedrich, Miranda Eldien, Carley Ney, Eric Deutsch, Ryan Kretzer and Praj Kumar.

Eisenhower girls volleyball

New Berlin Eisenhower Lady Lion volleyball seniors will be "have all been a huge part of this program the past four years," Ike coach Mary Campbell said. "All of them have had amazing careers at Ike and will leave huge holes to fill on and off the floor."

Allie Persick received first team all-conference in the Woodland West and Ike's MVP award and Nina Dodd received second team All-Conference for the third year in a row. Katelyn Olson also received Honorable Mention All-Conference.

Kate Nieberle was Ike's Most Improved Player this year and sophomore Jessica Gary received Honorable Mention All-Conference.

The Lady Lions will be losing six seniors to graduation - Dodd, Persick, Olson, Megan Maier, Payden White and Courtney Mroczenski.

"Megan, Payden and Courtney were also a huge part of this program's success this year and in year's past," Campbell said.

"We look forward to a lot of returners next year and wish our seniors the best of luck in their future. The program will miss their talent and dedication."

West cross country

The New Berlin West cross country teams announced their annual awards last week.

The Most Improved Runners were Megan Roehrs and Ross Wick and the Team Spirit Award went to Cory Davis and Sophia McQuitty.

The Runner of the Year Award went to James Kearn and Madelyn Egan

The latter award is not based on ability, but work ethic, leadership, sportsmanship to others and their teammates.

"It is quite an honor to be chosen and both of these runners deserve the award, "coach Jill Werner said.

"The way our kids work in the off season and during the season itself is always impressive to me," Werner said. "They have the desire to be the best they can be, and that will make all the difference again coming into next season. It was a very successful year for the program, and the kids know what it takes to keep this going."

Werner will lose four seniors - Brittany Kozlowski, captains Kassidy Berens and Ana Liska and Alison Lange.

"But only Brittany is a scoring varsity runner, so the girls are returning a full team that finished fourth at sectionals and third in the conference," Werner said. "Plus our girls JV team has a lot of up and coming runners, sophomores Sophia McQuitty, Samantha Klaske, and freshman Liz Doty, all dropped to close to varsity times by the end of the season."

The boys will suffer three huge losses - Kearn, Davis and Momo Mohamed.

"They were the heart of the team this year, two qualifying for state," Werner said. "We do return solid varsity runners in Andrew Munger, Ross Wick, Dom Ropella and James Windorff with a lot of varsity experience. And add Nate Gale. We do have a solid five, but we need more numbers to be a competitive team again next year."




Latest Photo Galleries