Sports Wrapups: June 26

June 26, 2012

Eisenhower track & field

New Berlin Eisenhower coach Billy Simon liked the direction his team took this season and he sees a bright future for the Lions.

"I am very proud of the work the kids did this season," he said. "They showed a lot of toughness and character in a year that was packed with adversity. We made some big strides in the right direction as a team this year.

"We were fortunate to have some great leaders to go along with a lot of young kids really motivated to be a part of what could be something special in the near future. These kids are ready to turn the corner and make Eisenhower a contender.

"We just need to keep the momentum going and keep working hard. The seniors will be missed, but I am definitely looking forward to next season."

Seniors are captains Therese Thompson, Brittany Daniel, Dylan Petre, Brandon Wing, Andrew Swiecichowski and John Crowley. Rounding out the senior class are Darren Lehsten, Alex Steinberger, Jake Antoniewicz, Kevin Plazak, Trace O'Rorke, Niko Ossa-Velandia, Steven Tausz and Nick Devroy.

The MVP Awards went to Taylor and Michaletz and the Most Improved Awards went to Antoniewicz, Wing, Swiecichowski and Holly Plazak.

The Top Newcomer Awards went to Kizaric and Nieberle and the Lion Pride Awards went to Steinberger and Kevin Plazak and Ney.

Eisenhower girls soccer

New Berlin Eisenhower won the Woodland Conference with a 10-1 record, won a regional championship and lost in the sectional championship game to finish an excellent season.

"The Lady Lions had great run to be proud of this season," Ike coach Jim Keller said. "… In the sectional final, Catholic Memorial played extremely inspired soccer, particularly in the first half scoring three goals. The second half, Ike elevated play, allowed only one Memorial score, but the Crusaders did a great job keeping us out of the attacking one third."

The team voted Ganske as Player of the Year, Andrea Zubke was Rookie of the Year, the leading scorer winning Golden Boot went to Ganzke (23 points), Rush won the Assist Award (17 assists), McArthur was the Take-away leader and Alex Zubke won the Leadership award.

Keller will lose six seniors - VanderKolk, who will play at UW Parkside, Bruno, Farrell, Alex Zubke, McArthur and Kaitlyn Lamere.

- Compiled by Tom 'Sky' Skibosh




Latest Photo Galleries